Ex-Premier League Top Referee Finally Explains Why Only Casemiro Was Given a Red Card After Palace Incident

Speaking to Sky Sports, former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher said: “I think Casemiro is a red card. The reason I say that is because you can’t condone a player putting both hands around somebody’s throat.

“When I see a player with two hands around a player’s throat, I can’t say that is not a red card offence because if I do then what I am doing is giving a player a licence week after week after week to think that this is acceptable.

“I don’t think this is acceptable. People say it looks different from one angle to another. I don’t need to focus on an angle that is not conclusive because I have got an angle that I think is conclusive. My verdict is that it is a red card.”

ALSO READ: Raphael Varane Finally Reveals What He Told Casemiro About Ten Hag To Make Him Sign For Man United

Casemiro was shown a straight card for putting his hands on Will Hughes’ throat during Manchester United’s 2–1 win against Crystal Palace last Saturday.

Although the incident was brief and non-violent, the Premier League’s rulebook clearly states that a player in that situation should be dismissed straight away.

Leave a Comment